The Oklahoma Nine

Artist: D. G. Smalling

The Oklahoma Nine offers a representation of the nine Justices of the Supreme Court, along with iconic landmarks from each judicial district. Current Justices are presented here in order of seniority.

Justice Yvonne Kauger (District 4) is a fourth generation Oklahoman from Colony. The town’s brick and steel water tower remains a sentinel of the former Seger Colony, see page 111. Justice Ralph Hodges hired Kauger as the Supreme Court’s first woman staff lawyer, a post she held until appointment as a Justice by Governor George Nigh on March 14, 1984. She is the only woman in state history to serve as both Vice Chief Justice and Chief Justice. Kauger is depicted with her family: Jonna Dee Kauger Kirschner, Jay Michael Eduard Kauger Scambler, Winston Jon Eagle Kauger Scambler; and her longtime staff members: Kyle Shifflett and Vanessa Traylor.

Justice Joseph Watt (District 9) served as Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Oklahoma from 2003 to 2006. A graduate of the University of Texas Law School, he is an avid golfer and has an impressive collection of United States Presidential memorabilia. He was appointed as a Justice on May 18, 1992.

Justice James Winchester (District 5) enjoys canoeing and has been extremely active in scouting with his son, Davis. He was awarded the Silver Beaver for his service by the Boy Scouts Last Frontier Council in 2013. Winchester also bicycles frequently. He has been a Justice since January 4, 2000, and served as Chief Justice in 2007 and 2008.

Justice James Edmondson (District 7) served in the United States Navy from 1967 to 1969 before earning his law degree from Georgetown University Law School. He is shown with his wife Suzanne Edmondson, a corrections volunteer who established education and mentoring programs for incarcerated women. After 20 years on the bench as district judge, Governor Brad Henry appointed Edmondson as a Justice on December 2, 2003. He served as Chief Justice in 2009 and 2010. The mighty Arkansas River cuts through District 7.

Justice Steven Taylor (District 2) served in the United States Marine Corps after graduating from the University of Oklahoma College of Law, see page 50. Taylor spent 20 years working in the Pittsburg County Courthouse, first as Associate District Judge, then as District Judge until appointed as a Justice by Governor Brad Henry on September 23, 2004. He served as Chief Justice in 2011 and 2012. His son, Wilson, is Manager of Team Operations for the Oklahoma City Thunder basketball team and Taylor attends nearly every home game.

Justice Tom Colbert (District 6) is the first African American Chief Justice, as well as the first African American appointed to the Supreme Court of Oklahoma and Oklahoma Court of Civil Appeals. Realizing that education holds the key to success, Colbert volunteers his time in reading and mentoring programs. An All American winner in the long jump, Colbert still competes in Masters’ Track events. Governor Brad Henry appointed Colbert as a Justice on October 7, 2004, and he served as Chief Justice in 2013 and 2014.

Justice John Reif (District 1) worked as a police officer for the City of Owasso before earning his law degree from the University of Tulsa. He served 23 years on the Oklahoma Court of Civil Appeals before being appointed to the Supreme Court of Oklahoma on October 22, 2007. An avid animal lover, he is shown with his faithful border collie. District 1 includes the Tall Grass Prairie Preserve, home to a herd of more than 2,500 American Bison.

Justice Douglas Combs (District 8) worked in the Oklahoma Supreme Court Clerk’s office while attending law school at Oklahoma City University. His collegiate career began at St. Gregory’s in Shawnee with its century-old Benedictine Hall. Combs is a member of the Muscogee Creek Nation. An avid golfer, his golf cart sports the emblem of the Oklahoma flag. His sons are both practicing Oklahoma attorneys. Governor Brad Henry appointed Combs as a Justice on November 5, 2010.

Justice Noma Gurich (District 3) moved from Indiana to attend the University of Oklahoma College of Law. She is an active member of St. Luke’s United Methodist Church where she volunteers with their television ministry and has made multiple mission trips to Russia. She is also a cat lover. District 3 includes the iconic SkyDance pedestrian bridge spanning Interstate 40 south of downtown Oklahoma City. On January 7, 2011, Gurich was appointed as a Justice by Governor Brad Henry.

Choctaw artist d.g. smalling completed these images in ink on leather. Richard Smith offered his expertise in affixing the leather to smalling’s acrylic painting of the Oklahoma Judicial Districts. Smalling’s biographic information appears on page 146. He donated The Oklahoma Nine to the Oklahoma Judicial Center Collection.

Photographs of the current Justices and all Justices since statehood are displayed on the ground floor of the Oklahoma Judicial Center, see page 197.